Cross Country

Syracuse men’s cross country wins 2015 national championship

Courtesy of SU Athletics

Syracuse won the 2015 national championship, recording 82 points. It was the first national championship for Syracuse since the men's lacrosse team in 2009.

The Syracuse men’s cross-country team won the 2015 NCAA national championship Saturday in Louisville, Kentucky.

The team was led by sophomore Justyn Knight, who finished fourth with a 10-kilometer time of 29:46.1. Other scoring finishers for the Orange were Colin Bennie in eighth (29:55.9), Martin Hehir in ninth (29:59.5), Philo Germano in 39th (30:29.5) and Joel Hubbard finishing at No. 47 (30:31.5).

The No. 2-ranked Orange racked up 82 points, edging No. 1 Colorado by nine points. Stanford (151), Oregon (183) and Iona (231) rounded out the top five. Oregon’s Edward Cheserek won his third consecutive individual title.

It is the first Syracuse national champion since men’s lacrosse finished best in the nation in 2009.

The SU women’s team took 12th in NCAA Championship earlier in the day for the second-best finish in program history. It is the fourth top-20 finish in team history.


Top Stories